RSS

Weekend Project: Ruin That Ugly-A$$ Tree

18 Oct

BEFORE:

This was the absolute best this tree ever looked.  This is the only photo I could find with the tree in it – I realized every time I took a photo of the house I (sub)-consciously tried to crop that side out so I wouldn’t have to look at it.

Then, after our BRUTAL HEAT WAVE breaking all kinds of records most of the tree died so it was brown.  My neighbor across the way pointed out the obvious one day, “I think your tree’s dead.”

And THAT WAS IT.  I finally had a *good enough* reason to get rid of it.

And so I did.

AFTER:

I am so grateful for the help I had to get rid of it once and for all!  Thanks to the wonderful Ayla (yard work hater) who did help saw off several big branches but ended up inside baking us a pie while we were working and was heard to say after, “Huh.  I never knew there was a window there.”  And also, Thanks to Evren (wishes we did yard work every weekend) who helped cut down this monster and was heard to say after, “What is the point of a window that isn’t actually a real window?”

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2011 in Ayla, Evren, Family, Jenn, Photos

 

5 responses to “Weekend Project: Ruin That Ugly-A$$ Tree

  1. Tara Bliven

    October 18, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    Next summer you need to ship Evren up to do some yard work at Chateau Tara…. And Ayla too – we like pie!

     
  2. dailyfoolishness

    October 18, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    I am not kidding, every gd weekend now, “Can we do yard work Mom? PLLEASE? Can we?” The answer is NO.

     
  3. unkle d.

    October 18, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    Yeahhhh send Evren up here. It will be safe, promise. We’ll start him out with something easy, like the chainsaw.

     
  4. Marg

    October 18, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    No, I think Grandpa is the one who could use a little help.
    And I like pie, too!
    Definitely need a sous chef.

     
  5. unkle d.

    October 18, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    Hey tell Evren I cut down some ugly and annoying blackberry and salmonberry plants tonight. They (especially the blackberry) have thorny stems that dig into your hands and catch on your clothes. It’s awesome, he would have loved it.

     
 
