RSS

Reading: The Ice Queen

22 Oct

The Ice Queen by Alice Hoffman

I feel like the quality of writing does not match the juvenile content of the story.  The story could have been elevated and I felt my self skimming over the actual content to get to the prose in between.  Her writing is incredible so I can’t wait to read more.  My favorite passage was near the beginning:

I didn’t believe in a rational, benevolent world that could be ordered to suit us, an existence presumed to fit snugly into an invented logic.  I had no faith in pie charts or diagrams of humanity wherein the wicked were divided from the good and the forever after was in direct opposition to the here and now.

 
Comments Off on Reading: The Ice Queen

Posted by on October 22, 2011 in Books, Reviews

 

Comments are closed.

 
