RSS

Reading: Uncertainty

27 Dec

Uncertainty: Turning Fear and Doubt into Fuel for Brilliance by Jonathan Fields

I wanted to love this book.  I was certain this book would be amazing.  92% of the reviews on Amazon are 5 Stars so certainly that would equal brilliance, no?  Yea, not really.  I was less than impressed.  I am going to steal Amazon reviewer Cara Trudeau’s summary because it is exactly how I would also sum up this book:

There are some great nuggets in this book, especially the sections on exercise and brain function, creativity anchors, and reframing from zero.  So why only three stars? I felt the tedium and repetitiveness of this book distracted from the good parts.  The first chapter described what the book would show.  Then the start of each chapter described what would be discussed in that chapter.  The end of each chapter summarized what was just described.  And, if that weren’t enough repetition, the final chapter listed a bunch of takeaways from each chapter.  I got the distinct impression the book was 30 pages of substantive material stretched to book length.

I would best describe this book as *Motivational* – I’ll keep it on my bookshelf and refer to it the next time I need a cheerleader.

 

 
Comments Off on Reading: Uncertainty

Posted by on December 27, 2011 in Books, Reviews

 

Comments are closed.

 
