RSS

Watching: Carmen Jones

06 Jan

Carmen Jones (1954)

Carmen Jones

Thank goodness for my co-worker who feels sorry for me that I haven’t seen so many of the “classics” and forces me gives me the DVDs to watch.  I never want to watch them but I do so out of guilt and obligation and almost always I enjoy the movie or at least feel slightly more connected to popular culture.  Dorothy Dandridge was phenomenal in this movie and now I understand Halle Berry’s Oscar speech reference to her in 2002 when she won the Academy Award for Monster’s Ball.  What struck me most about this movie though was the roughness (violence?) of the male lead character Joe (Harry Belafonte) towards women.  He was supposedly one of the “good guys” and yet he still pushed Carmen around, grabbed her, threw her … even when he was saying he loved her.  It was sad to see the movie that was her big break possibly mirror her personal life and early death.

 
Comments Off on Watching: Carmen Jones

Posted by on January 6, 2013 in Movies & TV, Reviews

 

Comments are closed.

 
